Fifty facts: The Great Race

Fifty Fast facts about The Great Race and Mount Panorama.
Fifty Fast facts about The Great Race and Mount Panorama.

1. The track: Mount Panorama, Bathurst is 6.213km

2. Length of Conrod Straight = 1.916km

3. Length of Mountain Straight = 1.111km

4. Highest Point: 862m above sea level

5. Race distance is 1000.29km

6. Average lap speed is 178km/h

7. Number of Laps (V8s): 161. Until 1987 there were 163 laps in the 1000km race. This was because before 1987 the Chase did not exist. The length of the Chase, though small to one lap, caused the number of laps over 1000kms to reduce to 161.

8. Fastest point: Conrod Straight; slowest point Forrest’s Elbow

9. Fuel used during race is 4.6 litres per lap (almost 800 litres for the race) 75L/100

10. Top speed is 298km/h down Conrod straight

11. Fastest lap is Jenson Button in a McLaren Formula One car.

12. Fastest lap during practice is Craig Lowndes in 2010: 2 minutes, 6.8012 seconds

13. Fastest lap during qualifying, Greg Murphy in 2003: 2 minutes, 6.8594 seconds

14. Most winning brand (V8 Supercars, Holden 13 Ford 5, 1993 to 2010)

15. Most winning brand overall Holden 27, Ford 18 

16. Number of manufacturers this year 2

17. Number of manufacturers overall has been as many as 16

18. Claimed biggest crowd 193,647 in 2006 (the year Peter Brock died)

19. The crowd in 2010 was 180,000 

20. The crowd in 2011 was 190, 000

21. 2012 is 50 years of the Bathurst endurance race

22. 2012 also marks 40 years since Peter Brock's first win in 1972

23. It has been 21 years since Godzilla (the Nissan GT-R) became the first Japanese car to with the Bathurst 1000

24. It has been 31 years since Dick Johnson's first win

25. It has been 41 years since Allan Moffat won in the legendary Ford Falcon GT-HO

26. Number of cars entered is 30 (only 29 can start)

27. At least 928 tyres will be used over the weekend. Each car is allowed four sets of tyres for the weekend (32 tyres in total)

28. If it rains there is no restriction on how many wet tyres can be used; tyre supplier Dunlop has 400 wet weather tyres at the track and 400 more in a warehouse ready to be trucked in

29. The youngest driver is Cameron Waters (17 years 67 days) on race day in 2011. Breaks previous record by 8 days, Paul Dumbrell in 1999

30. The Winningest driver is Peter Brock (9) and in this year's race: Mark Skaife (6)

31. Jim Richards holds the record for the most starts (35) at this event. 

32. The Number of 1-2 finishes for a team: 3; Moffat and Bond (1977), Brock and Harvey (1984), Lowndes and Whincup (2010)

33. Average sweat losses for the drivers during the race results in a 3 per cent loss of body weight

34. Number of people killed during the Great Race: 3; Mike Burgmann (1986), Denny Hulme (who died after suffering a heart attack during the race (1992)), Don Watson (1994)

35. Alcohol limit is one case per person per day of beer; 24 cans of regular beer or 36 cans light/mid strength beer, 24 cans mixed drinks per person per day, 4 litres of wine per person per day

36. Number of police patrolling Bathurst during race weekend will be more than 260 including general duties officers, highway patrol, public order and riot squad, dog squad, bicycle officers and mounted police.

37. Arrests in 2011 included 7 charges and 6 arrests including 2 possessing prohibited drug, 2 licensing offences, 2 PCS, 1 offensive behaviour, 19 banning notices, 8 warnings issued, 17 traffic infringement notices.

38. There are over 40 private residences located around the circuit (inside and outside)

39. Current Full-track Events: Bathurst 1000, Bathurst 12 Hour, Drive Bathurst, Festival of Sporting Cars (FoSC)

40. Due to the Mount Panorama Act (1993), the Mount may only hold five (5) full track events throughout the year

41. The National Motor Racing Museum (located at the base of Mount Panorama) was established in 1988 following a great drive by Bathurst Light car club. It was run by a community committee until 1997 when Bathurst Regional Council took over the wheel of management.

42. The altitude differential from the lowest and highest points of the circuit is 174m and some of the gradients are up to 16 per cent

43. Grid positions were first determined by qualifying times in 1967

44. Since 1967, just three cars have won the race after starting outside the all-important top 10. The last was Greg Murphy and Steven Richards in 1999

45. Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup won ‘the double’, Sandown and Bathurst in 2008. Before that it was Craig Lowndes and Greg Murphy in 1996.

46. Mount Panorama was originally constructed in 1938 as a scenic tourist drive

47. The race winners receive the Peter Brock Trophy which was introduced at the 2006 race in honour of deceased nine-time Bathurst winner, Peter Brock, most successful driver in the history of the race.

48. In 1973, the race distance was changed from 500 miles (800 km) to 1,000 kilometres as Australia shifted towards the adoption of the metric system.

49. The first race at Mount Panorama was The Australian Tourist Trophy, which was run on April 16, 1938 and attracted an overwhelming 20,000 spectators.

50. When racing first began at Mount Panorama the rules stipulated that an entrant’s car must be available ‘as is’ in a showroom somewhere in Australia. Success at Mount Panorama would greatly increase the cars image and credibility in the Australian marketplace, resulting in more sales. This also coined the phrase "Win on Sunday, sell on Monday".

This story Fifty facts: The Great Race first appeared on Western Advocate.