Great weather for golfing

Port Lincoln golf

Saturday, April 15

A stableford round sponsored by Lincoln Rural Supplies was played by 63 men (DSR 71) and 13 women including visitors from Barossa Valley, Mount Coolum, Mandurah, Penfield, Berri, Coffin Bay and Cowell.

Considering many of the usual players were away for Easter, school holidays or watching the car race in town numbers were pretty good.

Men’s A grade winner Haydn Myers scored 42 with runner up Warren Rosman on 40.

Former member Don Oats, 42, counted out Kade Dufek to win B grade while in C Grade Lindsay ‘Flash’ Gordon, 37, came in ahead of Todd George, 35.

Janet Whittaker, 37, won the women’s event from Elaine Pierik, 36.

Run downs went to Wayne Smith, Timothy Branford, Brenton George and Jack Thompson, all 39 points, and Bill Healey and Andy Smith both 38.

Par three birdies were scored by Elaine Pierik, Warren Rosman, Wayne Smith, Timothy Branford, John Strycharski, Dan Townsend, Stuart Pobke, Rex Bichard, Dave Wallace, Dean Weatherspoon and Ben Abley.

Nearest the pins: first Dan Townsend, sixth Dave Wallace, ninth Ben Abley, 10th and 18th Warren Rosman, 12th Cynthia Thompson.

Sunday, April 9

Huey Rosalia, 37 had the best score from the 11 contestants playing the usual stableford competition.

Runner-up after a count back was Brock Wise, 35.

Wednesday, April 12

Lincoln Garage Doors sponsored the men’s stableford round played by 59 including Colin Wooton Golf Club, Western Australia and former members Don Oats (Barossa) and Brian Stacey (Coomealla).

The DSR was 71.

The score of the day came from Rex Bichard with 43 to win A grade ahead of Tyson Dodd, 38.

B grade was won by Rob Humphries, 42, with Brian Stacy, 39, in second spot.

Graeme Parker, 39, had the best score in C grade while Danny Gordon, 36 (including an eagle on the first) was runner-up.

Run downs went to Simon Bell, 38, Brenton George and Josh Hausler both 38, Andy Smith, 36, and Rick Kolega, 35.

Nearest the pins: first Danny Gordon, ninth Haydn Myers, 10th Simon Bell, 12th Tyson Dodd and 18th Rick Kolega.

Tyson Dodd and Brenton George both scored par three birdies.

Thursday, April 13

The DSR was 73 for the 18 women who took to the course for a par round sponsored by The Grand Tasman Hotel.

Maxine Garnaut, square counted out Jo Higgins to win with relatively new member Denby Wandel, 2, up winning the nine-hole competition.

Cindy Carr had a birdie on the 9th and Jo Higgins was nearest the pin on the 18th.

Ferrets were scored by Chris Bone, Liz Weatherspoon and Denby Wandel.

Points for the day: Maxine Garnaut and Jo Higgins each three, Heather Darley and Elaine Pierik each two and Jinny Hussey and Liz Weatherspoon each one.

Upcoming events

Coaching by Jan Douglas and Nick McCormack for sub-juniors and juniors Anzac Day from 1pm to 4.30pm and on Wednesday, April 26 from 8.30am to 4.30pm.

Port Lincoln Men’s open is on Sunday, May 21 with visitors very welcome.