Port Lincoln Anglers Club celebrates 50 years

The Port Lincoln Anglers Club celebrated its 50th birthday on Saturday, April 8 firstly with afternoon tea at the clubrooms and followed by dinner at the Wheatsheaf Hotel.

It was great having about 60 past and present members as well as a couple of sponsors along to share in the celebrations.

Some past members travelled from Adelaide for the event.

It was a fun time of catching up with old friends, looking at photos and of course the odd fishing tale.

During the evening there was also the traditional quiz to test out general knowledge.

During afternoon tea a presentation was made to Bill Klaebe for 45 years of active service to the club including as secretary for 16 consecutive years as well as other committee roles over the years.

Mr Klaebe remains active with the club’s fundraising efforts and is a life member.

In the evening, Leon Paterson was presented with an award and certificate for 50 years active service.

Mr Paterson is a founding member of the club, a life member and continues to actively fish the club’s competitions including going to state championships.

The club’s founding members were Ted Lovegrove (president), Syd Hammond (secretary), Leon Paterson, Pat Prow, Les Sargent, Colin Freman, Graham Lovegrove, Tony Paynter, Ray Perks, Harry Trezise and Gordon Warland.

The club acknowledges its sponsors, both past and present, which are mainly the businesses of Port Lincoln.

Thanks also went to Judy Parker and Donna Peters for the birthday cakes.