Lincoln to host challenge


Saturday, June 17

STRONG fields greeted the greens in fine conditions, with the daily sponsor being Eyre Eye Centre.

A grade was won by Jason Verhees with 37 stableford points on a count-back from Clinton Scharfe.

There were five players with 40 points in B grade, with the winner decided on count-backs.

Phil Hyde won with 40 points from Greg Hughes.

Danny Gordon, also with 40, won C grade from Benji Sellen on 39.

Run down awards went to Jarrod Jones, Matt Molloy and Andy Smith, all on 40, Ben White 39, Tom Dawson 38 and Grant Woods and John Strycharski 37.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Maurie Barry, Warren Rosman, Jayden Lloyd, Dan Townsend, Greg Hughes and Andrew Tiller and birdies came from Jarrod Jones, Clint Scharfe, Jayden Lloyd, Trevor Durdin, Tyson Dodd (twice) and Andrew ‘Bubba’ Tiller.

In the ladies’ division, Liz Weatherspoon on 34 continued her recent good form to win from Helen George on 33.

Thursday, June 15

Kallinyalla Nursery Centre sponsored the women’s par event and a field of 20 played.

Sue Bishop won with +4 from Gail Watherston, +2, and Helen George, +1.

The nine-hole event winner was Lorraine McDonald.

Carolyn Cocks played her first full game after 18 months out after back surgery.

Wednesday, June 14

A smaller field of 47 men hit off in their mid-week tournament, including a visitor from Skabenga Golf Club; the sponsor for the day was the Wheatsheaf Hotel.

Warren Rosman, 39, won A grade from Roger Forrest, 38, B grade winner was Taylor Ford, 39, from visitor Geoff Parker, 38, and Ralph Glass won C grade with 35 from Jack Gibbes, 34.

Run down balls went to Tony ‘Snap’ Dragun and Ben Abley, 38, Chas Chambers, 37, and John Strycharski 36.

NTP winners were Tony Dragun (twice), Brian Slape, Dan Townsend, Trevor Durdin and Alan Jones; birdies came from Tony Dragun, Dan Townsend, Boris Kovacic and Alan Jones.

Monday, June 12

The Monday public holiday saw 16 golfers out to play.

The men’s winner was Taylor Ford, 36 stableford points, from Jayden Lloyd, 35, and Dave Bellchambers, 34.

The ladies’ winner was Liz Weatherspoon with 36 points.

Sunday, June 11

The winner of the Sunday stableford competition was Dave Bellchambers, 40, from Doug Chesher, 39.

Coming events

Port Lincoln will host the first round of the men’s Tri-Club Challenge on Tuesday, with local players and those from Coffin Bay and Cummins; names should be in by 10.30am for an 11 am hit-off and a barbecue tea follows play.

Next Sunday, June 25, is the EP Sand Green Championships at Lock, together with the 2016 Club Champion of Champions and Masters events.

EP secretary Tom Kenny is hoping for a good turn-out and club representation.

The following Saturday, July 1, sees Kimba host the EP Men’s Foursomes Championships.

The Green Side Bistro is hosting Christmas in July at the club on Saturday, July 8 catering for 120.

The tables are nearly booked out so be quick if you’re interested by phoning Chef Jeremy Hartwich or go to the Facebook page.