Men’s qualifiers determined


Saturday July 15

KEMP Real Estate sponsored a stroke round contested by 75 men (DSR 71) which was also the second qualifying round for the club championship and stableford for the 10 ladies out.

Visitors were Julie Lusan and Andre Lusan, Bob Smith and former member Tony Green.

A grade winner was Brad Bobrige, 67, from Trevor Durdin, 69. In B grade James Blewit, 70, came in ahead of Dave Batterbury, 71, while Maurie Barry, 70, won C grade from Dave Gardiner, 72.

A three-way countback was needed to decide ladies’ places with Cynthia Thompson, 31, the winner from Cindy Carr.

Rundowns went to Greg Bawden, 70, Mike Freeman, Matt Molloy, Tom Dawson and Luke Murray, all 72, and Jake Murray, Kees Mors and Dean Weatherspoon, all 73.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Taylor Ford (apparently had a terrible approach to the first which turned out okay), Greg Bawden (twice), Mike Freeman (twice including on the 18th which was very close to being an ace) and Peter Kenny.

Par three birdies were scored by Brad Bobrige, Trevor Durdin, Greg Bawden, Mike Freeman, Luke Murray and Grant Woods.

Sunday, July 9

Twelve players were out for the usual stableford round which was won by Doug Chesher, 38, from James Blewit, 36, and Brenton George, 35.

Wednesday, July 12

Regular visitor Chris Hiern joined 55 locals for the men’s stableford sponsored by Leader Distributors where the DSR was 71.

A grade winner Simon Bell scored 35 with Adam Hage, 31, runner-up. In B grade Wayne Macksad’s 39 was best ahead of Brenton George, 37. The score of the day came from Robert Fox, 40, to win C grade from Allan Reynolds, 36.

Run downs went to Chas Chambers and Ben Sellen, both 37, Bill Healey, 36 and Dave Batterbury, 35.

NTP winners were Andy Smith (twice), Dave Batterbury, Chas Chambers, Greg Hughes and Adam Hage.

Par three birdies came from Chas Chambers, Andy Smith, Greg Hughes and Rex Bichard.

Thursday, July 13

It was good to see recently turned 80 Lucille Green back for nine holes after injury with a further 12 ladies playing stableford for 18 holes.

The balmy weather was more like spring than the middle of winter which was not reflected in the scores with the DSR 73.

Jenny McDonald, 30, was the winner with runner-up Liz Weatherspoon, 29, counting out Rhondda Mayfield, Helen George and Elaine Pierik.

The nine-hole competition was won by Rhondda Mayfield, 15, on a countback from Helen George.

Liz Weatherspoon was NTP on the 18th. Points for the day: Jenny McDonald, 3, Liz Weatherspoon, Rhondda Mayfield, Helen George and Elaine Pierik, each 2, and Kaye Jaensch, 1.

Upcoming events

Congratulations and good golfing to men’s club championship qualifiers: A grade: Simon Bell, Mike Freeman, Trevor Durdin, Roger Forrest, Gavin Cheriton, Jason Verhees, Clinton Scharfe and Shaun Thomas; B grade: Chas Chambers, Greg Hughes, Andrew Tiller, Taylor Ford, Josh Hausler, Dave Batterbury, Brian Slape and Matt Molloy; C grade: Kevin Reidy, Peter Kenny, Robert Fox, Noel Welfare, Daniel Cope and John Hussey.

The draw is on the noticeboard.