Xavier Watson wins Great Flinders Mail Medal

BEST AND FAIREST United Yeelanna's Xavier Watson won this year’s Great Flinders Football League Mail Medal.

BEST AND FAIREST United Yeelanna's Xavier Watson won this year’s Great Flinders Football League Mail Medal.

Great Flinders association presentations

WINNING this year’s Great Flinders Football League Mail Medal was an honour for United Yeelanna footballer Xavier Watson but he said it probably would not sink in until he finished playing. 

“It is a great honour but also feeling pretty lucky,” he said.

“It will probably sink in more when I am finished playing and it is something I can be proud of.”

A grade

Watson finished the Great Flinders count on 43 votes, seven votes ahead of team-mate Casey Carr, who was runner-up.

Watson also won the A grade inter association best and fairest with 40 votes, with team-mate Jaxen Norton runner-up on 18 votes.

United Yeelanna’s successful year was further reflected with Stephen Crettenden winning the leading goal kicker for the A grade with 60 goals for the season.

Eyre United’s Anthony Stengle was named best under 21 with 17 votes and Brayden Martin from United Yeelanna was runner-up on 15 votes.

Watson said the United Yeelanna Football Club was excited about the grand final after an enjoyable season.

“The season has been very enjoyable,” Watson said.

“We have a close group of lads with the majority growing up playing together in juniors and now followed through to seniors.

“It's good fun to be around the club at the moment.”

He said the team was determined to continue the success it had had in recent years in this year’s grand final.


In the reserves, United Yeelanna’s Matthew Haylock was best and fairest with 14 votes followed by joint runners-up up Andre Smith (Tumby Bay) and Dale Bache (Cummins Kapinnie), both on 10 votes.

Tumby Bay player Chris Prime was leading goal kicker in the reserves with 66 goals.

Senior colts

Lock’s Macaulay Glover was senior colts best and fairest with 26 votes and runner-up was Ramblers’ Jeb Nettle on 23 votes.

Senior colts leading goal kicker was Jackson Murphy from Tumby Bay with 79 goals.

Mini colts

In the mini colts, Eyre United’s Ethan Pugsley was best and fairest with 36 votes, from runner-up Ramblers’ Darcy Claughton on 31 votes.

Inter association under 17 best and fairest was Kieran Stephens from Cummins Kapinnie with 16 votes and runner-up was Harrison Wright from Lock on 12 votes.

Inter association under 15 best and fairest was Henry Nelligan from Cummins Kapinnie on 18 votes ahead of runners-up Jagga Cross from Tumby Bay and Brodie Loube from Cummins Kapinnie, who both got eight votes.

The 2017 leading club for the Great Flinders Football League was Tumby Bay Football Club with 42 points.