Ilka Curtis wins 2017 Port Lincoln Netball Association Times Medal | GALLERY

Port Lincoln Times Medallist Ilka Curtis could not get over the shock of winning the Port Lincoln Netball Association best and fairest award on Saturday night.

She said the association and the Wayback Netball Club had welcomed her with open arms this season and seeing all the teams every week had helped her build friendships in every team.

“Those friendships go on a long, long time, that’s why I love netball and why I want to play.”

Curtis won the medal with 23 votes ahead of an injured Hannah Barker, who was runner-up on 20 votes, and McKenna Reidy received the A1 Rising Star Award for best under 21 player. 

Kelly Freeman won the A1 reserves best and fairest with Tara North runner-up and Tascha Jordison won the A1 reserves Rising Star Award for best under 21.

A2 best and fairest was Mia French and joint runners-up were Bernadette Miller and Emily Adler.

Gretta Kennedy was A2 reserves best and fairest and Lisa Clements and Melanie Burrows tied for runner-up.

A3 best and fairest was a tie with Xanthia Clark and Ali Lydeamore sharing the title and Kim Bilney was runner-up.

In the A3 reserves, best and fairest was Chloe Howe and runner-up was Abbey Wilkins.

The award for most goals by a senior team went to the Wayback A1 team, which score 806 goals for the year.

Maddy Pullen won the Umpires Performance Award.

The inaugural Margaret Reynolds Above and Beyond Award went to Amelia Rusden and Cindy Enge and Carly Orchard received the President’s Heart and Soul Award.

Alison Reynolds also received an association life membership.

A1 top 10 players

Jess Neilsen

Lauren Martinez,

Brianne Gray

Alice Griffin

Hannah Barker

Matilda Taylor

Vanessa Vlassco

Ilka Curtis

Ellie Cooper

Under 21 top 10 players

Jordyn Bryant

Ellie Cooper

Kyesha Vlassco

Ruby Orchard

Stella Reidy

Lily Matena

Casey Grenfell 

Sophie Wilkshire

Amelia Rusden

Tanika Coombe