Mick Hegarty wins 2017 Doug Watson Trophy

DOUG WATSON TROPHY: Winner Mick Hegarty with runner-up Bill Healey.

DOUG WATSON TROPHY: Winner Mick Hegarty with runner-up Bill Healey.


Saturday, September 16

SIXTY-SIX men and seven ladies played a par competition, sponsored by Eyre Refrigeration with one visitor, from Geraldton in Western Australia.

The final of the Doug Watson Trophy was played over 36 holes and the winner was Mick Hegarty from Bill Healey, with a score of 5/4.

In the daily competition, Dan Townsend won A grade with +4 from Chris Baird on +2.

Brenton George won B grade with the score of the day +5, from Ben Sellen on +3.

John Hussey had +4 to win C grade from Robert Fox +1.

Run-down awards went to Darryl Scharfe +2, Juri Berzins, Matthew Molloy and Jayden Lloyd, all square, then came Geoff DeLongville and Daryl Evans -1 and Grant Woods -2.

The ladies’ competition was won by Deb Sykes -1 from Jinny Hussey -2.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Jason Verhees (twice), Graeme Dyke, Norm Marks, John Cheriton and Warren Rosman.

Birdies came from Grant Woods, Stuart Pobke, Graeme Dyke, John Cheriton, Brian Henson, Dylan Bell and Jeff Tiller.

Thursday, September 14

The Captain versus President’s Teams event was played in conjunction with a stableford competition.

The daily sponsors were Chino’s and Spot On.

Heather Darley was the best by far of the 17 players, with 39 points, and a reduction in handicap to 16 as a result.

Runner-up was Adie Fraser, 32, on a count-back from Carolyn Cocks and Rhondda Mayfield won the nine-hole event.

Mayfield also birdied the first hole.

Wednesday, September 13

Forty-three men played in their mid-week competition, this week sponsored by Eyre Logistics.

Roger Forrest, 38, had the score of the day to win A grade from Simon Bell, 36.

Juri Berzins, 34, won B grade from Ben Sellen, 33.

Kees Mors, 33, was the C grade winner from Leo Newman, a stroke further back.

The ball sweep winners were Don Henson, 33, Tyson Dodd, 32, and Wayne Macksad, 31.

NTP winners were Tyson Dodd, Huey Rosalia (twice), Tony Dragun, Wayne Macksad and Phil Clem.

Tyson Dodd, Wayne Macksad and Huey Rosalia all had birdies on the designated par three holes.

Sunday, September 10

Twenty golfers played in the weekly Sunday stableford event.

The winner was Steve Thomson with 39 points, from Huey Rosalia, 37, on a countback from Doug Chesher.

Coming events

Nominations for the club’s annual Golf and Seafood Week close next Saturday, September 23.