Shaun Thomas wins EP Open


Saturday, October 7

OVERNIGHT rain freshened up the course for the Bendigo Bank Eyre Peninsula Open Championships.

The club is indebted to the Golf and Seafood Week Special Committee, comprising Chris Brooks, Mark Cooper, Haydn Myers, Robert Proude and Steve Thomson, who joined with the elected match committees to make the week so memorable.

In the men’s championships, with 79 players hitting off - including seven visitors - Shaun Thomas won the EP Open in A grade with 76, from Clinton Scharfe, with father and son Dylan and Simon Bell both a stroke further back on 77.

The B grade winner was Jarrod Jones, 84, from Jordy Chilman, and Darryl Scharfe was third with 86.

Kevin Reidy once again caused no surprises by comfortably winning C grade with 89 from Neville Durdin, 96, and Alan Jones, 97, on a count-back.

Reidy was also the yeterans’ trophy winner for the second time for the week.

The handicap section saw Mike Freeman winning A grade with 71 from Dan Townsend 82 and Dave Wallace on net 73.

Andy Smith won B grade with net 71 from Dave Batterbury 73 on a count-back from Andrew Innes in yet another count-back.

Peter Crawford won the C grade handicap section with 72, from Tom Dawson, 75, and third was Peter Watherston Jr, possibly surprised to be in the winners’ circle with 76 net on a count-back.

NAGA winners, with no scores available for publication, were Jason Verhees, Grant Woods and Danny Gordon, in their respective grades.

In the same grades, Tyson Dodd, Tate Secker and Kevin Blewit won their long drives and Tony Dragun, Ben Sellen, Shaun Thomas and Roger Forrest were nearest the pin on the par three holes.

Birdies came from Darryl Scharfe, Mike Freeman, Dan Townsend, Dave Batterbury, Shaun Thomas, Trevor Durdin and Ben Sellen.

The ladies played a stableford competition in conjunction with the open, which Cynthia Thompson won with 33 points from Deb Sykes, a stroke adrift.


Port Lincoln Real Estate and Shield Security sponsored the Thursday and Friday Golf and Seafood Week Championships and the winners were announced at the presentation dinner on the Friday evening, where all sponsors for the week were invited to attend.

Overall championships winner was Dylan Bell with a combined 36-hole score of 156.

Divisional winners were Bell in A grade, from David Hussey, 162, and Darren Arnold, 164.

B grade winner was Jarrod Jones, 172, from Dave Batterbury and Josh Hausler was third, 176.

In C grade, Kevin Reidy, 184, won from Ian Furniss, with Lindsay Gordon third, 192.

In the handicap sections, Dave Wallace, net 144, won A grade from Trevor Durdin, 152, and third after a count-back was Clinton Scharfe, 153.

Colin Clark, 149, won B grade on a count-back from Glen Dunning and Robert Proude was third, 150.

Peter Crawford, 149, was the C grade winner from Kye Hussey, a stroke adrift, and Peter Kenny was third, 156.

It was no surprise to see Kevin Reidy won the veterans’ trophy.

In the ladies’ section, Carolyn Cocks, 159,  was the championship winner.

There was a play-off to decide the runner-up, with Helen George winning from Cindy Carr.

Adie Fraser was the B grade championship winner with 205 from Jinny Hussey 208.

In the handicap section, Liz Weatherspoon, net 148, won A grade from Elaine Pierik, 152.

Deb Sykes won division two with 155 from Elaine Thring, 156, and Liz Weatherspoon won the veterans’ trophy.

Friday, October 6

The second round of the Seafood Championships saw 57 men and 22 women play on the day.

There were 20 visitors, with the same players from the previous day plus extras from St Helens and Devil Bend golf clubs.

David Hussey continued his good form during the week to win A grade with net 67, from Jayden Lloyd, 74, and Dave Wallace, 76.

Jarrod Jones won B grade with 69, from Dave Batterbury, 73, and Josh Hausler, 74.

Kye Hussey won C grade with net 70 with Kevin Reidy close by with 71 and Lindsay Gordon on 75.

Long drive winners were Ben Abley in A grade, Steve Thomson in B grade and Tony Manuel in C grade and nearest the pin (NTP) winners were David Hussey, Chas Chambers, Tyson Dodd, Dan Townsend, Dave Wallace and Roger Forrest.

Par three birdies came from Dave Hussey, Dave Wallace, Mark Cooper and Huey Rosalia.

Twenty-two ladies, including four visitors played in their sections.

Elaine Pierik, net 71, was the division one winner from Liz Weatherspoon, 74. Division two winner was Adie Fraser, 74, from Deb Sykes, after a three-way count-back from Elaine Thring and Ellie Hyde.

Jo Higgins and Jacqui McNamara won the long drives and NTP winners were Carolyn Cocks (twice), Elaine Thring (twice) and Cindy Carr.

Thursday, October 5

The first day of the Seafood Week Championships saw 61 men play a stroke competition.

The locals were joined by 17 visitors, from McLaren Vale, Palmerston, Cummins, Flagstaff Hill, Mt Barker-Hahndorf, West Lakes, Royal Adelaide, Murray Bridge, Lake Albert, Copperclub, Tailem Bend and Elliston golf clubs.

The handicap winners were Dave Wallace,  net 68, from Rex Bichard, 70, and Dylan Bell, 72, in A grade, Glen Dunning on a count-back from Dave Batterbury with 70 in B grade and third was Robert Proude with 71.

Visitor Ian Furniss, 72, won C grade from Kevin Reidy, 73, and Peter Crawford, 74.

NTP winners were Huey Rosalia, Jayden Lloyd, Trevor Durdin, Greg Barr, Haydn Myers y and Glen Dunning. long drive winners were Dan Townsend, Glen Dunning and Peter Kenny in their respective grades.

Rex Bichard, Dylan Bell, Clint Scharfe, Trevor Durdin and Jayden Lloyd all had birdies.

Twenty-four ladies played in their competition, with handicap winners being Mary Verhees, 70, from Liz Weatherspoon, 74, Adie Fraser, 75, and Jinny Hussey, 77. There were four visitors.

Most accurate drives went to Jo Higgins and Lorraine McDonald and NTP winners were Elaine Pierik, Jo Higgins and Carolyn Cocks.

Wednesday, October 4

Sponsored by Bridgestone and Dynacast Golf, 60 men played a stableford competition with nine visitors, from Palmerston, Flagstaff Hill, Stanley, Willunga, Cummins, Mt Osmond, Coffin Bay and Elliston.

A grade winner was David Hussey, 39, from Mick Hegarty, 35, on a count-back from Dan Townsend. Ian Beeby resurrected his golf from the previous day, only to be counted out in B grade by Glen Dunning on 37, third was Colin Clark with a respectable 36.

The score of the day went to Kevin Reidy in C grade with 44 points, from Danny Gordon 38 and Robert Andrews 37.

Only four players entered the ladies’ event including one visitor and Elaine Pierik, 37, was the best of them.

Andy Smith eagled the 13th hole and Ian Beeby, Kym Clarke and Trevor Durdin all birdied the 18th hole.

NTP winners were Dan Townsend, Josh Hausler, Andrew Stevens and Bill Healey and long drives went to Dan Townsend in A grade, Kym Clarke in B grade and Kevin Blewit in C grade.