Harris named table tennis champion

The Port Lincoln Table Tennis Association held its wind-up and senior trophy presentation night at the stadium with a shared barbecue.

The club, lead by president Jason Regan, who has done a magnificent job in his first year as president, has had a successful year.

With an increase in numbers, six teams of nine players were fielded.

Thirteen-year-old Joseph Harris was awarded club champion, having lost only three games for the whole season.

Close runner-up was Shane Stockham with just one win behind.

Most singles for women winner was Bev Atkins, just two wins ahead of runner-up, Fiona Rosalia.

The best doubles players were winner Joe Perone and team partner, Bill Broughton from Gladiators.

The most improved players were Wade Gray, Martin Sheridan and Jayden Townsend, who has just completed his first year in senior competition.

Club Person of the Year was awarded to Lance Barnett for his incredible work for the club as secretary.

A life membership was awarded to Wade Gray who has been treasurer for many years. 

Team of the year was: 1 Joseph Harris 93.18 per cent, 2 Mark Strycharski 58.97 per cent, 3 Wade Gray 37.78 per cent, 4 Joe Perone 100 per cent, 5 Martin Sheridan 80 per cent, 6 Dannen Blacker 52.27 per cent, 7 Nicholas Bates 90 per cent, 8 Bev Atkins 73.33 per cent, 9 Cath Trowse 30.95 per cent.