Branford one stroke ahead

Coffin Bay golf

Thursday, March 1

TWENTY men competed in a stableford on March 1 and Toby Kennett returned to the winner’s circle with a 68 followed by Rick Kavanagh taking the second ball on a countback from Bruce Greenshields, both on 70.

Kennett finished the day by winning the nearest the pin (NTP) on 1/10 while T. Modica won the NTP on 5/14.

It is nice to see some new names in the winner’s circle.

Saturday, March 3

Sixteen ambrose teams were made up of players from all over Eyre Peninsula.

The four top teams had a very close finish with just one point separating first to fourth.

S. Nettle, K. Burgin and P. Oestmann evidently showed everyone else how to putt, including a chip in, to take the winners’ prize with a 60.4.

G. Morgan, M. Jenkins and A. Jenkins were second with a 60.7 while T. Branford, W. Rammers and H. Rammers were third on a count back from G. Cook, P. Cox and M. Charlton, all with 61.

Shark Byte Computers, the sponsors for the day, were there to present the winning prizes including the long drives to P. Sargeant and G. Kenny and the NTP winners D Fitzgerald and J Cain.

Sunday, March 4

The Coffin Bay Open was a huge success on March 4 with 72 entries from all over Eyre Peninsula.

Eight locals kindly hit off at 8.30am to help with the back log.  Morning golf with a heavy dew is a bit different to the afternoon.

Duncan Powell sponsored the day which was greatly appreciated.

Tim Branford continued his battle with Hayden Myers, winning the A grade by one stroke from Myers – 77 and 78 are great scores.

Geoff Nottle was the net winner with 76 on a countback from Huey Rosalia and Andrew Jenkins.

The A grade NTP winners were Peter Swaffer and the long drive winner was Zac Mayer.

B grade winner off the stick was Andrew Pietsch with 83 while Rick Kavanagh was runner-up with 87.

The net winner was Brian Slape with a 75 on a countback from Phil Hyde and Peter Moos.

Brett Hensel won both the NTP and longest drive.

The C grade winner off the stick was Geoff Morgan with 94.

Steve Nettle took out second prize with 95.

The net winner was Bruce Greenshields with 72 on a countback from Ernie Osborne.

The long drive was won by Hayden O’Brien while Robert Prout took out the NTP.

The veteran’s winner was Geoff Morgan with a 71 and he was also in the winning team of Michael Minhard, Mark Crettenden and Steve Nettle with a combined total of 298 shots.

Many stayed for tea as well as support the breakfast on Sunday while the golf ladies did a fantastic job for catering.

A gentle reminder for members that subs of $165 are due in May along with the shed hire.

All new members are welcomed as the course, with the help of the Work for Dole scheme, is in pristine condition.

Thank you to all donors and volunteers.