Dyer top yachtie

Andy Dyer was names the Forbes Furniture Yachtsperson of the Year 2018 at the recent Port Lincoln Yacht Club presentation night.

Tom delaPerrelle was awarded the Junior Yachtsperson of the Year title at the event, which ha a Derby Day theme.

Jess delaPerelle and Justin Lowe were awarded ‘best dressed’ for the evening.

Certificates of appreciation were presented to Richard Davison, Lyndon Henley, Jonathon Newbury and John Clark and the Volunteer of the Year award went to Nikki Dyer.

Port Lincoln Yacht Club has had another successful season hosting a series of major events including the Teakle Classic Adelaide to Port Lincoln Yacht Race and Teakle Lincoln Week, the Melges 24 Nationals, the Youth Tri Series as well as weekly club racing.

Port Lincoln Yacht Club has enjoyed a very successful keel boat season with Lincoln Mentor named keel boat champion.

The junior program headed by Michelle delaPerrelle and Andy Dyer is sailed Saturday mornings to introduce sailors to the sport, followed by Saturday afternoon intermediate and senior dinghy sailing and keel boat racing.

The club congratulated the trophy and award winners and thanked all the club’s sponsors, members and supporters.