Port Lincoln Lions Club welcome 2018/19 board

The Port Lincoln Lions Club celebrated its annual handover dinner at Ravendale on June 29 which saw 60 members and guests attend.

Emcee was Port Lincoln’s current Citizen of the Year and Lion Gavin Roberts and past district governor Don Pritchard officiated the induction ceremony for the new board of directors with Iain Adams announced as president for 2018/19.

Outgoing president Terry Aldenhoven announced $26,000 was raised throughout the year and would be all distributed to various community groups and Lions Club Foundations.

He then presented several awards including the Dan Maskell Award to John Chalmers, the Lion of the Year award for most outstanding Lion to Mr Adams as well as three President’s certificates.

In his first official role Mr Adams presented Lower Eyre Peninsula mayor Julie Low with his President’s Appreciation Certificate for the recent work the council did with Lions Picnic Park.

Lion Peter Milczarek received the Lions Club’s highest award for his dedicated service  to the Port Lincoln Lions club, the Melvin Jones Fellow Award presented by zone chairman Mr Roberts.

"Peter Milczarek's contribution to lions has been outstanding," Mr Roberts said.

Mr Pritchard made a surprise presentation from The International Director of Lions International Dr.Naresh Aggazwal from Civil Lines Delhi to Mr Roberts and Lions Lady Christine Roberts for their dedicated and humanitarian service.

The Club was also presented with the Lions Mints National Top Sales Award, managed by Malcolm Bagnell.