Great Flinders undefeated

The Pedler Cup Carnival was held in Wudinna on Saturday, July 7.

Far West, Mid West, Eastern Eyre, Whyalla, Great Flinders and Port Lincoln all submitted two teams one for the coveted Pedler cup and one in the Pedler Shield.

The day started off with the Mid West Netball Association president Reanna Freeman welcoming all associations to the 57th Pedler Cup Carnival along with one of Mid West’s life members Susie Boylan.

There was brilliant netball played in both divisions. There were two draws in the first round and a couple more throughout the day.

In division one, Great Flinders were too strong going undefeated. They came up against Port Lincoln in the grand final where they continued to dominate, with a five-goal lead in the first half.

Port Lincoln did not give up, but Great Flinders kept their five-goal lead through to the second half winning 24 to 19.

In division two, Whyalla had some work to do coming up against last year’s winners, Port Lincoln in the grand final.

Both teams were equal during the day with eight points each and Whyalla were sitting in pole position only by percentage.

Port Lincoln were showing they meant business with an 11-goal lead, but Whyalla fought hard in the second half closing the gap.

In the end Port Lincoln were just too good winning by eight goals 22 to 14, which meant Port Lincoln took home their 10th Pedler Shield.

Robyn Pedler travelled to Wudinna to award the Pedler Cup, Pedler Shield and trophies.

She said she was pleased the carnival is still going strong and that it is helping in the development of young netballers across the region. 

A massive thank you to the Wudinna Sporting Complex and all involved for hosting a well-run carnival. 

Division 1 best players: Great Flinders: Matilda Crettenden; Port Lincoln: Codi Moseby and Gia Thompson; Far West: Torah Stott; Mid West: Gabbie Seal; Eastern Eyre: Lauren Ferme. 

Division 2 best players: Great Flinders: Abbey Bates; Port Lincoln: Ella Tansell; Far West: Aliera Sansbury; Whyalla: Clare McLean; Mid West: Safara Moyse; Eastern Eyre: Taylor Dolling. 

Pedler Cup winners: back: Renae Nettle (coach), Tayla Milligan, Sydney Claughton, Lacey Murnane, Hana Green, Mackenzie Walter, Lily Nettle, Molly Burns, Julie Crettenden (manageress); front: Matilda Crettenden, Megan Carr.

Pedler Shield winners: Cadence Kalling, Ruby Ford, Ella Tansell, Ashlee Cocks, Makaya Bryant, Sophie Treager, Elke Lindschau, Tia Hoopman, Taya Foster, Aisha Wilson, Emma Wilson (coach).