Higgins, Mitchell share par trophy glory

TIED UP: Paul Mitchell (left) and Andrew Higgins (right), with club captain Will Stratford, tied for the trophy par event.

TIED UP: Paul Mitchell (left) and Andrew Higgins (right), with club captain Will Stratford, tied for the trophy par event.

Blustery conditions faced the 16 competitors taking part in the final round of the Tumby Auto Electrical Services trophy par event.

It was an exciting finish to the tournament ending in a tie with Andrew Higgins and Paul Mitchell sharing the honours.

Higgins, for all intent and purposes, had this competition wrapped up going into the final round, sitting on +9 and had already rehearsed his acceptance speech prior to the event.

Mitchell had other ideas as he mounted an incredible comeback of epic proportions to finish level at the day’s end with a personal best of 84 strokes.

Higgins’ putting let him down on the day squaring five holes in a row where if just one of those putts dropped would have handed him glory.

Will Stratford won the first division with +4  – his massive drives were a major contributor to his win.

Andrew Stanley had to settle for second best, only managing +1 which was a reasonable score in the strong wind.

Paul Mitchell came in with an incredible +5 to claim the second division from Graham Pollard who had +2. Andrew Higgins received the extra ball also coming in with +2 but lost on a countback.

Butler Builders longest drive was won by Peter Swaffer on hole 12; Darrell Stratford chipped in for bird on hole six to claim the Bawdens Rural Supplies nearest the pin (NTP); Trezise and  Sons NTP was won by Will Stratford on hole 15; and Paul Mitchell claimed the Pothole Puzzler NTP on hole seven.

Bad luck story of the day went to Andrew Liddicoat as he prepared to chip his well-placed ball only two metres from hole three’s notorious sand bunker.

He loudly proclaimed the bunker was not even there as he duffed his shot straight into it.

Great turn out for the Port Neill Open with more than 60 golfers turning up including a strong contingent from Tumby Bay.

Will Stratford was A grade runner-up and also won the longest drive, Jackson Liddicoat won the C grade longest drive and Ros Scrace was the ladies handicap winner.

Mick McCallum received the B grade wooden spoon.