Wayback, South win at 20th ​junior carnival

MORE than 300 car loads of children, parents and supporters converged on Karkoo for the 20th ​annual junior carnival on August 19.

The United Yeelanna Junior Carnival began in 1999 and was the inspiration of Brian and Isobel Kay and Kevin and Sharon Campbell, who worked hard to initiate the first carnival and provide an opportunity for junior footballers and netballers to improve their skills and play against teams from all over Eyre Peninsula.

The weather conditions were perfect, a little chilly at first, but as the sun peeped out from the clouds calm conditions greeted 240 young football and netballers and their spirits were high. 

There were lots of smiles, laughter and camaraderie both on and off the courts and oval throughout the day with the emphasis on enjoying their sport – playing with intensity but all in the right spirit!

In the netball, eight teams from across the EP were represented all vying for the prestigious Heather Norton Shield.

In the grand final it was Wayback who were victorious beating St Mary’s 21 goals to 14.

The Helen Minhard Carnival best and fairest trophy winner was Marene Greyvenstein from Boston, whilst the Tracey Wooley runner up best and fairest trophy was won by Halle Phelps from Cougars and Billie Thomson from Wanilla Rangers.

United Yeelanna’s Elsie Maddern, Cougars’ Halle Phelps, Ramblers’ Ava Pedler, Wanilla’s Billie Thomson, Boston’s Marene Greyvenstein, Western Districts’ Jasmine Gunn and Abbee Cash, Wayback’s Katie Wells and St Mary’s Elke Shepperd received best and fairest trophies for their team:

Eight football teams from three football leagues competed for the chance to win the carnival shield.

After a tough 12 hard-fought games it was the two undefeated sides, Lincoln South and Tasman, who competed in the grand final.

In a hotly contested final Lincoln South showed their dominance taking out the carnival 6-6 to Tasman’s nil.

Best and fairest winners were United Yeelanna’s Ethan Pugsley, Tasman’s Michael Burgoyne, Cougars’ Aaron Kerr, Marble Range’s Dylan Morgan and Cooper Puckridge, Eastern Ranges’ Bailey Matters, Boston’s Toby Rawles, Lincoln South’s Nick Cave and Wayback’s Oscar Paull.

Carnival best and fairest was Michael Burgoyne from Tasman with Nick Cave from Lincoln South runner up.

United Yeelanna is grateful to the many organisers and hundreds of club volunteers who have contributed to making the carnival such a success for the last 20 years.

Playing in the winning Lincoln South team were: Back: Kyran Cocks (assistant coach) Des Kenny (coach) Jayden Evans, Isaac Evans, Xavier Mcwhinnie, Thomas Allen, Tyson Higgins, Oz Richardson, William Turner, Charlie Kenny, Nick Cave, Jake Sherry, Tyree Burgoyne, Evan Lukin, Adele Whittaker (trainer), Tyrese Sincock, Seb Henderson (assistant) Trini Kennedy (team manager); front: Liam Akehurst, Tommy Puddy, Ryder Franks, Joseph Kennedy, Jaylen Cocks, Noah Scott, Tommy Bird, Chevi Battams.

The winning Wayback netball team (right) included: Shauna Warrior, Katie Wells, Ella Campbell, Shanaya Cook, Jenni-Lee Te Wano, Pheonix Lawrence, Ciarn Glass, Mia Speed, Anna Te Wano.