Waybacks player takes top netball honour

Port Lincoln Times Medallist Brooke George took home the Port Lincoln Netball Association (PLNA) best and fairest award and the Joy Hutchinson Trophy for most votes overall on Saturday night. 

She thanked her friends and family, and said after four years at the Wayback Netball Club she still looked forward to training each week.

“Come every Wednesday afternoon and I never dreaded going to training, which is a surprise,” George said.

George also said she wanted to thank a friend for taking care of her daughter each Saturday while she played and wished her rivals, the Imperials, good luck in next weekends grand final.

Association president Emma Brewster said for George to get so many votes in their top league was a huge feat for an A1 player.

George won the medal with 34 votes ahead of Hannah Barker.

A once again injured Barker took out the A1 runner-up best and fairest for the second year with 23 votes and McKenna Reidy received the A1 Rising Star Award for best under 21 player for a consecutive year.

Katrina Vlassco won the A1 reserves best and fairest with Hannah Weiss runner-up and both Sophie Wilkshire and Alana Jantke were named A1 Reserves Rising Star Award for best under 21 player.

A2 best and fairest was Xanthia Clark and runner-up was Mia French.

Sonya Young was A2 reserves best and fairest and Nikkia Olds took home runner-up.

In the A3, best and fairest was Brooklyn Binns and runner-up was Hannah Schlink.

A3 reserves best and fairest was a tie with Jessica Canty and Dana Selwyn-Shore sharing the title and Quinshia Skinn was runner-up.

The inaugural Margaret Reynolds Above and Beyond Award went to Lily McRostie and Di Moseby received the President’s Heart and Soul Award.

Michelle Lobb, Karen Vukosavljevic and Leah Crettenden were all presented with a PLNA life membership.