The Flat has it won before last doubles

Great Flinders table tennis

Despite not much separating the two teams, minor round premiers Cummins were unable to finish off their successful year when Yallunda Flat defeated them in a strong performance, 21 sets to nine, in the grand final played at Cummins.

Yallunda Flat were on a roll after keeping their season alive with a win against Yeelanna in the preliminary final last week. 

There were 10 five set matches for the night with Yallunda Flat winning seven of these.

After the first round of singles the score was tied up at five each.

Cummins won three five set matches with Lester Barnes winning against Isaac Telfer, Caro Miller winning against Malvern Telfer and Matt Guppy defeating Lorraine Dunn.

Yallunda Flat’s Tim Roediger also won in five against Cummins’ Ross Kerr.

Yallunda Flat then went on to win four out of the five doubles to give them a three set lead going into the last round of singles.

Cummins were only able to win three in the next round of singles with two five set matches going Yallunda Flat’s way, which extended their lead.

Tom Baldiserra won against Ross Kerr and Tim Roediger again had a five set match, winning against Kym Wright.

This gave Yallunda Flat 16 sets, which meant that the result of the last round of doubles was not going to change the winner for the night.

Unfortunately Cummins were unable to win any of the last tiered doubles, again losing two of these in five.

Yallunda Flat deserved their win and the result was not as close as was predicted.

Association president Rob McFarlane presented the shield to Yallunda Flat captain Andrew Cabot.

Association trophies were also presented to Men’s Best Percentage winner, Daniel Challinger from Yeelanna, Women’s Best Percentage, Heather Pope from Wanilla and Most Improved Jim Casanova also from Wanilla.

The winning Yallunda Flat team pictured are: back: Tom Baldiserra, Wade Gray, Jared Bates, Isaac Telfer, Tim Roediger; middle: Thomas Cabot, Malvern Telfer, Lisa Fitzgerald, Carmel Sheehan, Lorraine Dunn; front: Andrew Cabot (captain).