Cummins Kapinnie tops Great Flinders' awards

Great Flinders football and netball celebrated their ‘Night of Nights’ in Cummins on Saturday, with Cummins Kapinnie young guns Lochie Paech and Jessica Nielsen scooping the pool.

The football league’s latest Mail Medal winner polled strongly throughout the season, finishing with 39 votes.

The win makes Paech a third generation Mail Medal winner in his family, behind his father Steven Paech and grandfather Lloyd Mahoney.

In a surprise upset, Jordan Hind (Tumby Bay) came from behind in the last game to edge out last year’s winner Xavier Watson (United Yeelanna) and Levi Konitzka (Cougars) to be runner-up.

Popular netball winner Jessica Nielsen also comfortably led the voting during the minor round to finish ahead of United Yeelanna rival Jessica Harris to take out the Flo Polkinghorne A grade best and fairest title.

Completing a family trio, Nielsen’s sister Sarah Southern (Tumby Bay) was joint A reserves best and fairest winner, while older sister Renae Nettle (Ramblers) was the inter-association and Pedler Cup premiership coach for the under 15 team.

The Night of Nights was the first time the football league and netball association had combined to celebrate their best players.

Guest speaker Wayne Phillips entertained the large crowd, with all successful senior grade players recognised for their efforts.

Netball stalwart Karen Hurrell was recognised by GFNA for decades of coaching and selecting at the highest level, along with many years in an association committee role, by being presented with her life membership.

GFFL celebrated young guns Brodie Laube (Cougars) who won the association colts trophy, under 15 inter-league winner Ethan Langley, under 17 inter-league winner Jackson Murphy, and best under 21 winner Levi Brown.

Konitzka took home the A-grade inter-league trophy and Kerry Franks was recognised for his umpiring efforts with the Football Golden Whistle award.

Cougars reserves player Brad White took home the best and fairest trophy, with Andre Smith (Tumby Bay) and Scott Blacker (Ramblers) joint runners-up.

In the netball, Jordan Sladdin (Lock) and Desi Franks (Tumby Bay) took out the Under 21 Rising Star medallions, while Heather Norton (United Yeelanna) and Sarah Southern (Tumby Bay) won the A reserves best and fairest trophy, with Sophie Blacker (Ramblers) runner-up.

In the B grade, Hayley Ness (Cougars) won best and fairest, with Crysta Robins (United Yeelanna), Demi Letton (Cougars) and Rhianna Carmody (Eyre United) tied for runner-up.

Lucy Mitchell (Tumby Bay) won the B reserves best and fairest trophy, with Peta Berryman (Ramblers) runner-up.