Kingsley Bilney Jnr wins 2018 Mail Medal

Port Lincoln Mail Medal

MALLEE Park’s Kingsley Bilney Jnr has won his second Port Lincoln Football League Mail Medal at the league’s presentation evening at the Port Lincoln Hotel on Wednesday evening.

The medal count was close throughout as Tasman’s Boyd McCurry topped the leaderboard after the first 10 rounds on 15 votes, with Bilney close behind on 12.

Two sets of three votes in matches against Lincoln South and Boston got the 2015 Mail Medallist over the line, finishing ahead of McCurry by one vote.

Bilney said it was a shock to win the award, especially playing against top opponents throughout the year.

“People like Boyd McCurry, you follow them on the field and they lead you to the ball,” he said.

“Standing next to Shaun Maxfield from Wayback, or even Sunny Singh from Boston, they rub off on you as much as you rub off on them.”

Bilney’s brother Wes Bilney also won two Mail Medals for Mallee Park in 2006 and 2007, and their father Kingsley Bilney Snr won one at Boston in 1986.

In the Earl Family Trophy count for reserves, Marble Range’s Ethan Tiller was the clear winner on 24 votes, eight ahead of runner up Greg Rowley from Lincoln South.

Rowley also won best team man for the reserves while the A grade award went to Jason Perkins from Wayback.

Goal kicking awards went to Lincoln South’s Todd Coleman in the reserves and was shared by Marble Range’s Kory Beard and Tasman’s Johann Wagner in A grade, all three finishing on 52 goals.

Marble Range’s Billy Byass was named best under 21 player and Tasman’s Cooper Tansell received the Rising Star award.

Marble Range coach Reece Francis was named the inaugural Senior Coach of the Year and Robin Staunton was named Best Field Umpire, the second time he had won the award.

The league also welcomed a new life member in Stephen Orchard.

The night was hosted by Mallee Park with president Jack Johncock serving as master of ceremonies.