Early results released for three Lower Eyre councils

Counting is underway for councils across the state in the local government elections with provisional declarations made for Tumby Bay District Council, as well as the race for Port Lincoln mayor.

The Electoral Commission of South Australia made a provisional declaration for Port Lincoln mayor with Brad Flaherty provisionally elected as the new mayor.

Mr Flaherty polled 1786 first preference votes ahead of Diana Mislov on 1424 and Jim Papazoglov on 1167, with a second count showing Mr Flaherty with 2132, ahead of Ms Mislov on 1741.

First preference votes for Port Lincoln’s nine councillor positions is yet to be released.

The commission made a provisional declaration for Tumby Bay mayor at 1.35pm with Sam Telfer provisionally renominated to the position.

Results show Mr Telfer polled 976 first preference votes with Geoff Stewart polling 328.

The provisional declaration was made for Tumby Bay’s six councillor positions with Ricky Trenberth polling the most first preference votes on 243.

Provisionally elected as councillors for Tumby Bay are: Ricky Trenberth, Bob Lawrie, Hannah Allen-Jordan, Robert Randall, Stephen Hibbit and Helen Kroemer.

The report on first preference votes for Lower Eyre Peninsula District Council’s seven councillor positions were released at 3.20pm with Jo-Anne Quigley recording the highest amount on 215 and Brett Howell one vote behind on 214.

Following them in descending order are Wendy Holman (205), Alan Tingay (168), Steve Woolley and Geoff Bayly (159), Peter Mitchell (149), Helen Lamont (90), Jill Coates (76), Willy Janssen (36) and Doug Clarke (29).

The council received 1500 formal votes and 32 informal votes for this year’s elections

More results to follow.