Western Eyre wins Region Five bowls

Inter-Association bowls

The cream of women bowlers from Eyre Peninsula converged on Streaky Bay to vie for the Region Five Inter-Association honours. Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Southern Eyre Peninsula and Western Eyre Peninsula were the three Associations involved with each Association having six rinks of four players.

Despite trying conditions due to a vigorous wind which varied from north west to south west some unbelievable bowls were produced throughout the day.

Most rinks were very evenly contested although there were a few blow outs. Western Eyre ran out winners with 23.5 points, followed by Southern Eyre with 20 points and Eastern Eyre with 4.5 points.

Western EP 108 shots def Eastern EP 106 shots

Mandy Nicholls lost to Bev Oswald 18-19; Sue Rumbelow lost to Annie Clements 13-16; Eilleen Fitzgerald lost to Heather Michael 14-18; Pam Edmunds def Deb Larwood 29-7; Jeanette Bubner lost to Angie Turner 15-27; Jan Kenny drew Kerry Winter 19-all.

Western EP 112 shots def Southern EP 108 shots

Mandy Nicholls def Sandra Blacker 27-14; Sue Rumbelow lost to Helen Minhard 20-21; Eilleen Fitzgerald lost to Chris Gardner 15-17; Pam Edmunds def Kath Miller 26-16; Jeanette Bubner lost to Danielle Carr 13-17; Jan Kenny lost to Vicki Lehmann 11-23;

Southern EP 134 shots def Eastern EP 92 shots

Deb Larwood lost to Sandra Blacker 15-16; Angie Turner lost to Helen Minhard 18-19; Kerry Winter lost to Chris Gardner 14-22; Bev Oswald lost to Kath Miller 19-21; Annie Clements lost to Danielle Carr 15-29; Heather Michael lost to Vicki Lehmann 11-27;

At the conclusion of the day Region Five events coordinator Di Eatts congratulated the winners Western EP and presented the Shield to team manager Coralie Walker.

Di also thanked the Streaky Bay Bowling Club for hosting the very successful event and made special mention of all those involved in the kitchen, bar and greens committee.

Western EP: Mandy Nicholls Sk, Carol Thomas, Heather Workman and Chris Boylan; Sue Rumbelow Sk, Janine Brown, Denise Stephens and Gaye Oswald; Eileen Fitzgerald Sk, Deb Richter, Melva Freeman and Nancy Bubner; Pam Edmunds Sk, Lisa McEvoy, Josie Williams and Carol Horseman; Jeanette Bubner Sk, Karen Collins, Di Williams and Carmen Hoffrichter; Jan Kenny Sk, Sue Higgins, Kerry Johnson and Jenny McEvoy.

Southern EP: Sandra Blacker Sk, Carlene Fraser, Patsy Parsons and Jenny Gosling; Helen Minhard Sk, Jeanette Rynne, Lucille Green and Kerryn Hibbit; Chris Gardner Sk, Chris Hayman, Rosalie Hier and Josie Perone; Kath Miller Sk, Trish Clarke, Javanko Mojtorovic and Sharon Sheehan; Danielle Caar Sk, Ally Baldock, Joylene Pedler and Lou Fuss; Vicki Lehmann Sk, Karen Lynch, Lily Perin and Suzanne Cave.

Eastern EP: Deb Larwood Sk, Jacqui Dolling, Louise Craighead and Sue Fisher; Angie Turner Sk, Sue Enright, Cheryl Gale and Bev Berg; Kerry Winter Sk, Helen Harris, Raelene James and Beth Deakin; Bev Oswald Sk, Di Eatts, Deb Grose and Ruth Spriggs; Annie Clements Sk, Marie Mullan, Lorraine Deakin and Ruth Rafferty; Heather Michael Sk, Lynne Snodgrass, Wendy Walladge and Phyliss Forbes.