Full week of Lincoln golf

SATURDAY'S WINNERS: Tim Pobke, Matt Molloy, Stuart Pobke, Phil Hyde. Picture: supplied.
SATURDAY'S WINNERS: Tim Pobke, Matt Molloy, Stuart Pobke, Phil Hyde. Picture: supplied.

Port Lincoln golf

Saturday, March 9

EP Property Valuations sponsored the stableford played by 66 men and eight women.

In A grade Stuart Pobke, 45, was a clear winner with Matt Molloy, 42, runner up. Greg Barry, 41, won B grade with Brenton George, 40, close behind while in C grade Mike Munro, 41 came in ahead of Tim Manning, 40.

Run downs went to Tim Pobke, Leon Newman, Mike Freeman, Chris Lack and Phil Hyde all on 39.

Helen George, 31 won the women’s from Robyn Hurley, 29, who was runner up after a four-way count back.

Friday, March 8

This was the last round of nine-hole ambrose for points with 41 players competing. Next Friday will be a fun round followed by presentations and barbecue.

Thursday, March 7

A stableford round sponsored by Caltex Fuels was contested by 19 women.

Liz Weatherspoon’s 36 was the best score with Rhondda Mayfield, 33, in second after a four-way count back. Run downs were awarded to Kaye Jaensch, Elaine Pierik and Janet Whittaker on 33.

The day’s novelty, most points on par five holes, was won by Liz Weatherspoon with nine.

Points for the day: Liz Weatherspoon 3, Rhondda Mayfield, Kaye Jaensch, Elaine Pierik, Janet Whittaker 2 and Sue Bishop 1.

Wednesday, March 6

There were five visitors among the 67 men out for the stableford round sponsored by Sekol Farmed Tuna.

Don Henson’s 38 won A grade with Grant Bamber next with 37 after a four-way count back. Rick Kolega, 39, won B grade, runner up was Andrew Allen, 38. Ian Sellen had score of the day with 43 to win C grade ahead of Mike Munro, 37.

Run downs went to  Simon Bell, Chris Cottrell, Dan Townsend, Tom Dawson, Trevor Durdin.

Tuesday, March 5

Seven played twilight 10-hole stableford but only four finished, three pulling out because of rain. Winner was Liz Weatherspoon (18), Robyn Hurley, 16, was runner up.

Monday, March 4

Three women and eight men played the seniors' stableford.

John Hussey, 37 counted out Peter Crawford. Andy Smith, 37, had to be content winning the front nine with 21, back nine winner was Bob Sorensen, 20.  For women the winner was Liz Weatherspoon, 40.

Sunday, March 3

Twenty four men including four visitors contested a stableford round in two divisions with Mike Freeman, 40 winning first division from Daryl Evans, 38 and James Blewit, 37.

In division two Kris Bunder, 38 won from Trevor Gould, 37 and Terry Longbottom, 36 on a count back. Carolyn Cocks, 40 was best for women with Rowena Fox, 31, runner up.