Bell pars Lincoln course for A grade win


Saturday, July 6

SIXTY-SEVEN men played a stroke round as a precursor to the Port Lincoln Golf Club championships.

The daily sponsors were Initial Reaction and EP Cleaning, and some good scores were posted.

A grade winner was Dylan Bell with net 70 and he parred the course from his two handicap.

Runner-up was Matt Molloy with 72.

Graeme Dyke won B grade with 68 net from Jake Murray, 71, and Lindsay Gordon counted out Corey Stephens in C grade, both having 68 net.

Run-downs went to Andrew Tiller, 71, Chas Chambers, 72, and Simon Bell, Bill Healey and Peter Fare all had 73 net.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Trevor Durdin, Dylan Bell, Brock Wise, Simon Bell, Greg Barry and Andrew Dickie.

There were five birdies on the par-three holes - Dylan Bell, Andrew Tiller, Simon Bell, Greg Hughes and Rob Humphries.

Eight ladies played a stableford round, with Cynthia Thompson on 33 points counting out Cindy Carr for the win.

Lyn Hosking birdied the sixth hole.

Thursday, July 4

Evoke Hair was the ladies daily sponsor for their par competition and 14 took part.

Elaine Thring won the day with one down, from Jinny Hussey -4.

Run-downs went to Deb Sykes and Jacqui McNamara, both on -4.

Maxine Garnaut won the NTP competition.

Wednesday, July 3

Tradelink was the daily sponsor for the men's mid-week competition and there were 54 players.

Clint Scharfe had the score of the day and won A grade with 41 stableford points from Adam Sullivan on 39 points.

Jeff Tiller counted out Greg 'Panic' Hughes to win B grade with 34 points and Andrew Frick won C grade with 40 points from Cliff Taylor on 38.

Run-downs went to Josh Hausler, 38, Warren Rosman, 37, and Huey Rosalia and Kevin Reidy finished off the prize list with 36 points each.

NTP winners were Clint Scharfe (twice), Bevis Francis, Darryl Scharfe, Brock Wise and Benji Sellen.

Par three birdies came from the magic wands of Simon Bell, Trevor Durdin and Benji Sellen.

Monday, July 1

Seven men and six women played in cold conditions for their monthly seniors' day.

The men's winner was Colin Gamble with 37 points, from John Hussey, 34.

Val Sharrad took out the ladies' division with 34 points, from Liz Weatherspoon 33, after a count-back.

Weatherspoon won the back nine with 19 points and Brian Smith won the front nine with 18 points on a count-back.

Sunday, June 30

A good field of 22 players joined the Sunday stableford competition.

Matt Molloy posted a very good score of 41 points, from Tyson Arthur 39.

The best of the women was Deb Sykes with 34.