Eyre Peninsula team ready for championship defence

The senior men's EP football side will defend their title at the 2019 SANFL Country Championships in Port Pirie this weekend.

Under coach Scott Feltus and assisted by David McPharlin, selectors have chosen a powerful side with a solid mix of strength, experience and running power, which will be well positioned for a title defence.

They possess a powerful midfield with Xavier Watson, Jesse Stringer, Kingsley Bilney and Jess Kenny expected to play big roles and be well fed by ruckmen Levi Konitzka and Dylan Kelsh.

Defensively David Wright, Joe Walker and the emerging Ian Jericho will form a solid back half.

Their forward line has some genuine marking power with key forward Sid Masters in excellent form.

Stephen Crettenden is a genuine competitor in the air, debutant Ben Shillabeer has strong hands and Casey Amos will be dangerous around goals when resting.

Their outside run will be led by Brayden Martin and 17-year-old debutant Jackson Murphy who both have excellent leg speed and use the ball well. Jake Bruce will always find plenty of the ball across the middle of the ground.

Feltus is looking forward to the carnival and with seven new players coming in, he said it was an outstanding opportunity for them to impress on the big stage.

"We have a different mix from last year but the opportunity to bring some fresh faces in to the side gives the group another great chance to work together towards another successful campaign."

Eyre Peninsula kicks off their campaign against a strong Southern Districts side on Saturday morning, with their second game against Murray South East in the afternoon.

Sunday's games hinge on their performances on Saturday but Feltus is confident his side can set themselves up for a spot in the final on Sunday.

The carnival will also host a SANFL Showdown when Adelaide and Port Adelaide go head to head on Saturday afternoon.

Coach: Scott Feltus; assistant coach: David McPharlin; runner: Matt Lienert; manager: Scott Clark.

Great Flinders: Jackson Murphy, Brayden Martin, Joe Walker, Xavier Watson, Stephen Crettenden, Jordan Hind, Jaxen Norton, Levi Konitzka. Port Lincoln: Jacob Collins, Casey Amos, Billy Byass, Kingsley Bilney Jnr, Ben Shillabeer, Ben Sampson, Tynan Keeley. Eastern Eyre: Jake Bruce, Ryley Maitland, Ben Clements, Dion Woolford, Sid Masters. Mid West: Jess Kenny, Jesse Stringer, Dylan Kelsh, Ian Jericho. Far West: David Wright, Jaxon Bennett (emergency).

Eyre Peninsula women's team ready to play

For the very first time, Eyre Peninsula will have a women's side in this years SANFL State Country Champs to be held in Port Pirie this weekend.

Allthough there are currently no senior women's competitions on the EP, coach Brett Howell said the attitude of the girls has been fantastic.

"For these girls to come together from just trainings and an exhibition game at the Mortlock Shield, to watch their progress has been really rewarding," he said.

"Their attitude and enthusiasm has been fantastic and they are all looking forward to representing Eyre Peninsula for the first time"

The side will be led by captain Georgie Shirley who along with the talented Gia Thomson will play key roles through the midfield.

The inclusion of the Howell twins, Maddy Zacher and Shae Partington will give them some experience and leadership, while Ari Schlink, Demi Clements, Julie Gerber and Winnie Hill have all shown promise in the lead up to the carnival.

The girls will travel by bus to Port Pirie on Friday and kick off their campaign against Southern Districts on Saturday morning, followed by a game against Murray South East in the afternoon.

Coach: Brett Howell; runner: Steve Thomson; team manager: Robyn Rowsell.

Players: Shenae Miller, Brooke Nisbet, Lily Trenowden, Maddy Zacher, Gia Thomson, Kendall Howell, Sheridan Howell, Georgina Shirley, Winnie Hill, Julie Gerber, Ari Schlink, Shae Partington, Kristen Siviour, Mel Shadwell, Brooklyn George, Ruby Grace, Eliza Jacobs, Zahlia-Jade Magen-Mullan, Demi Clements, Brooke Neindorf, Lauren Siviour.