Abley's score of the day best in A grade

SATURDAY SMILERS: Wayne Smith, Peter Fare and Eyre Logistics sponsor Graeme Dyke.
SATURDAY SMILERS: Wayne Smith, Peter Fare and Eyre Logistics sponsor Graeme Dyke.

Port Lincoln golf

Saturday, September 7

SIXTY-EIGHT men and six women played a stableford round with five visitors from Marion Park, Kwinana, Berri and Whyalla golf clubs. The daily sponsor was Eyre Logistics.

Ben Abley, 40, won A grade and the score of the day, from Jake Murray on 38.

Andrew Innes, 39, counted out Darryl Scharfe in the B grade. The C grade winner was Wayne Smith, 38, from Leon Newman, 36.

Run-downs went to Dave Batterbury, 38, Robert Humphries and Peter Fare, 36, and Chas Chambers and Andy Smith, both 35.

The ladies' winner was Carolyn Cocks, 32, on a count-back from Deb Sykes.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Ben Abley, Josh Hausler, Simon Bell, Dylan Bell, Ryan Lack and Haydn Myers, and there were 10 birdies on the par three holes, coming from Ben Abley, Andrew Innes (twice), Wayne Smith, Haydn Myers, Mark Butt, Corey Stephens, Jayden Lloyd, Ryan Lack and Josh Hausler.

The eight qualifiers for the Doug Watson Trophy were to have played their quarter-finals but this was deferred until next Saturday.

Thursday, September 5

Twelve ladies played a stableford competition, won by Jo Higgings, 36, from Rhondda Mayfield, 34.

Run-downs went to Carolyn Cocks, 33, and Lorraine McDonald, 32.

Five others went to Tumby Bay for the Champion of Champions and masters events. Helen George won the A grade championship from Liz Zwar from Cleve and Cynthia Thompson won the masters event.

Cynthia Thompson, Elaine Pierik and Val Sharrad won a teams event.

Wednesday, September 4

Blaslov Fishing sponsored the mid-week men's stableford, which attracted 58 players, including a visitor from Tumby Bay.

A grade winner was Mick Hegarty, 39, from Ben Sellen, 38. Score of the day came in B grade, where Jim Kassiotis scored 42 points to win from Dave Graetz, 38. Tom Dawson, 38, took out C grade from Cliff Taylor, 36.

Run-downs went to Darryl Scharfe, 38, Greg Barry, 37, Huey Rosalia, 36, Bevis Francis, 35, and Garry Downey, 35.

NTP winners were Huey Rosalia, Darryl Scarfe, Chas Chambers, Bevis Francis, Dave Wallace and Ralph Glass. Seven players birdied the par three holes - Darryl Scharfe, Cliff Taylor, Garry Downey, Chas Chambers, Don Henson, visitor Adrian Cross and Ralph Glass.

Monday, September 2

Eleven players took part in the monthly seniors' day, with Bill Healey, Bob Sorenson and Deb Sykes sharing the pool; all on 35.

Bevis Francis won the front nine with 19 points and Mick Hegarty won the back nine with 18 points on a count-back.

Sunday, September 1

Fine weather on the first day of spring was welcomed by only a few golfers, with Fathers' Day keeping many away.

Quite a few played social rounds but only five took part in the competition. The men's division was won by Ben Abley, 38, from Ben Sellen, 36. The ladies' winner was Liz Weatherspoon, 34, from Deb Sykes, 32.

Kyancutta Golf Club hosted the Champion of Champions and masters events.

Shannon Mathews from Kimba won A grade from Marc Chapman from Cummins. Peter Moos from Cummins won B grade from local Ian Rickter and locals also took out the C grade championships, Nigel Crosby from Shaun Henney. Ron Havelberg from Kimba won the masters and local Geoff Merlin won the 'mini masters'.

SAPASA results

Tom Kenny from EP Golf provided the following details from the State SAPSASA golf event, played in Adelaide last week.

From Cummins, Mylee Haylock posted a score of 116, Archie Fitzgerald 83 and Clayton Colbert 100.

Cody Crosby from Cleve scored 93 and Jody Lienert from Kimba had 106. From Streaky Bay, Kyle Feltus had a score of 93 and from Whyalla, Erin Inglis had 82, Torre Holden scored 102 and Josh Inglis posted 72 and made the cut to play in the finals.

The future of golf on Eyre Peninsula is bright.