Ariarne Titmus nominated for more Australian sport awards

Ariarne Titmus
Ariarne Titmus

Tasmanian swimming sensation Ariarne Titmus has been shortlisted for another major Australian sporting award.

Just a few weeks after being named as a finalist for the prestigious Don Award, the teenage freestyle specialist is among a stellar list of athletes nominated for the annual Australian Institute of Sport performance awards, with fans to decide the winners.

Raised in Launceston but now based in Queensland, Titmus, 19, has been nominated for the ABC Sports Personality of the Year award and was in the 4x200-metre relay team whose world-record-breaking world title is shortisted among the country's best sporting moments of 2019.


Joining Titmus as finalists for the Sports Personality of the Year are tennis world no.1 Ash Barty plus surfer Sally Fitzgibbons, golfer Hannah Green, Ellyse Perry (cricket), Patty Mills (basketball), Dylan Alcott (wheelchair tennis), Nat Fyfe (AFL), James Tedesco (rugby league), Scotty James (snowboard), Caleb Ewan (cycling) and cricketer Steve Smith.

Titmus's role on the anchor leg of Australia's relay world title in South Korea is among the nominations for sports moment of the year in which several veteran Tasmanians also feature.

Tim Paine, 34, led the Australians to retain the Ashes on English soil for the first time in 18 years, fellow Hobartian Eddie Ockenden, 32, was in the Kookaburras team that won the inaugural FIH Pro League title and Launceston's Chris Goulding, 31, was among the Boomers to inflict a first ever defeat on USA.

Now in their sixth year, the awards recognise Australia's leading athletes, teams and coaches, and celebrate their outstanding achievements in high performance sport.

AIS chief executive Peter Conde said the public choice award categories give Australian sporting fans the opportunity to become involved in the prestigious event and get behind their favourite athlete or team.

"Each year I am astonished by the quality of the short-list for these awards, and thankfully the Australian public has the task of picking the winners and not me," he said.

"2019 has once again delivered outstanding individual and team performances, whether it be Ash Barty inspiring the nation on the road to becoming the world number one, Michael Roeger smashing the world record in just his second marathon or Ariarne Titmus completing an extraordinary upset in the 400m freestyle final at the world championships."

Winners will be announced at the AIS Sport Performance Awards in Sydney on December 10.

This story Titmus keeps a lap ahead first appeared on The Examiner.