Count-back hands Rosalia A grade win


Saturday, November 9

THERE were 73 men and 14 ladies playing in the stableford sponsored by The Wash, including visitors from Coffin Bay, Waikerie, Willunga and Gardens golf clubs.

In the men's section, Huey Rosalia won A grade on a count-back from Josh Hausler, both 40. B grade winner, with the score of the day, was Matt Parker, 43, from Graeme Dyke, 39. Bill Healey won C grade with 38, from Colin Clark, 35.

Run-downs went to Geoff Nottle and Shaun Thomas, 38, John Strycharski and Brenton George, 37, and Rex Bichard and Mark Cooper, both 36. The women's sectional winner was Lyn Hosking, 34, from Cynthia Thompson and Elaine Thring, 33, decided on count-back.

Nearest the pin (NTP) winners were Rex Bichard, Brenton George, Chas Chambers, Haydn Myers, John Strycharski and Peter Daniells. Feathers flew on the par-three holes, with 13 birdies, from Matt Parker, Huey Rosalia, Shaun Thomas, Brenton George, Mark Cooper, Haydn Myers, Chas Chambers, Phil Hyde, Matt Molloy, Don Henson, Darryl Scharfe, Peter Fare and visitor Philip Bond.

Friday, November 8

This nine-hole ambrose teams event continues on Friday evenings. Contact the club for further details.

Thursday, November 7

Fourteen ladies played a par competition, sponsored by Spot On and Cafe Chino's.

The winner was Liz Weatherspoon, who finished on square, from Helen George one down; both broke their handicaps.

Run-downs went to Elaine Pierik -2 and Elaine Thring -3. NTP winners were Elaine Thring and Sue Cotton.

Wednesday, November 6

Forty-five men faced windy conditions for the mid-week competition sponsored by Lincoln Fresh, with one visitor from Waikerie.

The division one winner was Grant Bamber, 36 stableford points, from Rex Martin, 35. Dave Batterbury had the score of the day to win division two with 37 from Rick Kolega on 35. Morning players scooped the pool in division three; Boris Kovacis won with 37 from Ralph Glass on 35.

Run-down balls went to Chris Cottrell and Trevor Durdin, 36, from Noel Welfare and Bill Ford, 34.

NTP winners were Dan Townsend, Bill Bascomb (twice), visitor Jack Sullivan, Trevor Durdin and Huey Rosalia. There were only four par-three birdies on the day - Grant Bamber, Maurie Barry, Juri Berzins and Bill Bascomb.

Tuesday, November 5

Only a handful of players out on Melbourne Cup Day, with no competition.

Monday, November 4

Eighteen men and four women played in the monthly seniors' day, with Andy Smith, 41, winning the men's division from John Strycharski, 39. The women's division was won by Janet Whittaker, 37.

John Hussey, 20, won the front nine and Bill Healey, 19, won the back nine.

Sunday, November 3

Nine players competed in Sunday stableford, with Lance Appleby scoring 37 points to win from John Phillips on 36.