Tight finish at Port Neill tournament

Port Neill held its annual men's fours tournament with 16 teams playing in perfect weather.

Players came from Tintinara, Rosewater, Kimba, Lock, Cowell, Cleve, Arno Bay, Tumby Bay, Port Lincoln and Kirton Point.

The winners, with four wins, 102 points and 29 shots up was the Port Lincoln team of Gary Schreiber (skipper), Malcom Siegert, Merv Dennis and Rodney McDonald.

Runners up also with four wins and 102 points, but with 26 shots up, was the Kirton Point team of Doug Baldock (skipper), Dean Thomas, Darryl Hage and Darryl Karger.

These teams scored the exact same number of points in each of the four games and the winner could only be separated by shots up.

Tumby Bay's Bill Richardson (skipper), Steve Higgins, Jim Cabot and Dene Kimber came third with three wins and 84 points.

The day was sponsored by the Tumby Bay Community Bendigo Bank, Bawdens Rural, Pfitzner Farming and Arrunga Ag.