Australia Day celebrated in Cummins and Coffin Bay

Lower Eyre Peninsula District Council enjoyed a momentous Australia Day on Sunday. It included the presentation of six awards and the first Australia Day citizenship ceremony for the district.

The council held a breakfast at the Cummins Hall at 8am before award presentations began at 9am, with about 300 people in attendance.

Awards were presented to Heather Norton (Citizen of the Year), Holly-Elise Pervan (Young Citizen of the Year), Sydney Claughton (Sportsperson of the Year), Leanne Pollard (Employee of the Year) and Cummins Ramblers Football Club (Community Event of the Year).

The ceremony was also significant as it also involved the first ever citizenship ceremony on Australia Day for the district as Claire Loveridge became a new citizen.

"It's a privilege to be able to present over a citizenship ceremony but there's an extra buzz to have it on Australia Day," mayor Jo-Anne Quigley said.

About 175 people attended the community breakfast at Coffin Bay which began at 7.30am.

Deputy mayor Peter Mitchell and councillor Steve Woolley were on hand to present the Business of the Year award to Fiona Gordon of the Coffin Bay Post Office.

Donations collected during the morning equaled $640, which will go towards future Australia Day breakfast events.