Baird and Murray in Doug Watson final

Baird and Murray in Doug Watson final



With match play in progress, and rain during the day, only 45 men played a par competition, with Eyre Refrigeration the daily sponsors. There were two visitors from Roxby Downs Golf Club.

In A grade Darryl Evans won with +3 from Ryan Cottrell +2.

The B grade went to Tom Dawson on +3 on a countback from Dylan Vonderwall, and Chris McGown had the score the day with +5 in C grade, accounting for James Fuss on +2.

Rundown vouchers went to Andrew Puglisi, Stuart Pobke and Andy Smith on +2, with Brian Smith +1.

The semi-finals of the Doug Watson Trophy have now been completed.

Chris Baird won over Mick Hegarty two up and Tony Dragun forfeited to Luke Murray.

Baird and Murray should be evenly matched in the 36-hole final.

Seven ladies played a par event as well, the winner being Helen George one up from Elaine Peirik two down on a countback from Deb Sykes.

NTP winners were Geoff Nottle, Simon Bell, Chris McGown, Shaun Thomas, Mike Freeman, Ben Abley and Dave Wallace. Greg Cotton, Chas Chambers and Simon Bell scored birdies.


Sponsored by Doug Watson Mensland and Intersport, 19 ladies played a stableford competition, incorporating a Captains vs Presidents event, which was narrowly won by the first-named team 276 points to 274.

The daily winner was Jo Higgins with 36 points on a countback from Deb Sykes.

NTP winners were Cindy Carr, Kay Freeth and Helen George.


Seventy eight men played their mid-wWeek competition, this sponsored by Eyre Logistics.

Good scores were in keeping with the fine conditions, with Taylor Ford winning A grade with 36 stableford points on a countback from Chas Chambers.

Tony Dragun won B grade with 39 from Brenton George 37 and Boris Kovacic scored the Phantom Score of the Day with 41 points, from Peter Watherston on 38.

Rundowns went to Mike Munro 38, Chris Cottrell and James Fuss 36, with Ryan Cottrell, Rex Martin and David Graetz all posting scores of 35.

NTP winners were Wayne Smith, Mick Hegarty, Dave Wallace, Lindsay Gordon, Peter Leahy and Jake Murray, with Don Henson scoring the solitary par-three birdie on the last hole.


The monthly Seniors' Day saw only 10 players hit off, in strong warm northerly winds.

The best overall score came from Val Sharrad with 38 stableford points, from Brian Smith on 34.

Liz Weatherspoon won the front nine with 20 points and Dave Batterbury had 18 points on the back nine.


Fifteen players took part in Sunday stableford, with Dave Barrowcliff winning with 36 points, from Rohan Montgomerie and Brentan Beare, both with 35 points.