Baird wins Doug Watson Trophy at Port Lincoln Golf Club

TROPHY: Doug Watson Trophy finalists Chris Baird and Luke Murray with club captain and referee Jayden Lloyd. Photo: supplied
TROPHY: Doug Watson Trophy finalists Chris Baird and Luke Murray with club captain and referee Jayden Lloyd. Photo: supplied



Eighty two men played a stableford competition in fine conditions, sponsored by Bradford Constructions. There were six visitors, from Byron Bay, Coomealla and closer to home, Port Neill and Tumby Bay golf clubs.

As predicted last week, the 36-hole final of the Doug Watson Handicap Match Play Championship was a close fought affair, with Chris Baird defeating Luke Murray on the final hole.

In the daily sections, the men's A grade was won by Jason Verhees with 40 points from Mark Button 38. Tony Dragun won B grade, also with 40 points convincingly, from Tom Dawson 34. The C grade winner was Jacob Harvey with 37 from Lindsay Gordon on 35 points.

Run downs went to Rex Martin 38 and a group of players on 36 , visitor Brian Stacy, Chris Brooks, Shaun Thomas, John Strycharski and Mick Hegarty. The last pickup was Jake Murray on 35.

Helen George was the best of the ten ladies who played, with 33 points from Maxine Garnaut on 31.

NTP Winners were Mark Butt, Adam Sullivan, Ben Jaensch, Brett Davies, Tate Secker, Jim Kassiotis and Chris McGown. Shaun Thomas had the solitary par three birdie on the last hole.


In atrocious conditions, the ladies formed a coffee group earlier than normal!


Eyre Refrigeration sponsored the men's mid-week competition, with 61 players including a visitor from South Lakes Golf Club.

Ben Sellen won A grade with 38 from Rob Humphries 36. Consistent Dave Batterbury headed B grade with 39 points from Bill Healey on 38 and Cliff Taylor had the score of the day to win C grade with 41 from Noel Welfare on 38.

Rundowns went to Geoff Nottle 38, Jack Lowe 37 and John Strycharski, Josh Hausler and Danny Gordon all scored 36 points.

NTP winners were John Cheriton, Graeme Dyke, James Fuss, Maurie Barry, Rex Martin and Leon Newman, and there were four birdie winners - Rex Martin, Greg Cotton, Chas Chambers and John Cheriton, who was nearest the pin on the first hole and birdied the last, only he can tell you how he did not make the winners' circle!


Twenty five golfers played in the Sunday stableford competition. The men's winner was Ben Lamont with 39 points, from Ben Abley 38 and Stephen Rees with 36. The ladies' winner was Carolyn Cocks with 35 from Deb Sykes on 34.


Golf and Seafood Week has already received over 70 entries, so be quick to enter.

A working bee will be held on Sunday, September 27 to finalise course preparation.

Friday Twilight 9-hole Ambrose Teams events will commence on October 16. The cost is $5 per player and non-members very welcome to take part, no handicap is required and you will be added to a team of four if you do not have one organised. Contact the Club for further details.