More than 100 play Port Lincoln par competition



More than 100 golfers, including four visitors from Coffin Bay, Port Neill and Waikerie, played a par competition, sponsored by the Marina Hotel and Apartments.

Of the 85 men, Taylor Ford won A grade with +4 on a count-back from Jason Verhees. Rick Kolega won B grade with +7 from Tyson Arthur and Jack Shanley also had +7 in C grade to easily account for Ben Jaensch on +3.

Run-downs went to Gavin Cheriton +4, Simon Bell, Kevin Reidy and Mick Heharty on +3, and Ben White, Grant Bamber and Chris Baird on +2.

NTP winners were Grant Bamber, Bill Bascomb, Dylan Bell, Jayden Lloyd, Huey Rosalia, Daryl Evans and Kaye Jaensch.

Ben White notched an Eagle on the 2 nd hole, while Taylor Ford, Grant Bamber, Andrew Allen and Craig Reinke all scored par-three birdies.


The nine-hole Friday Evening ambrose teams event has begun, with scoring decided over two ten week periods.

The cost is $5 per person, and hit-off times are from 4.30 to 6 pm, with the bar open. If you are not a member, have not got a handicap or even a team to play in, the club will sort you out.

To register, contact Josh Hausler on email

The club now has a second caterer for dine-in and take-away meals on alternate Fridays, starting from this Friday.

For those wishing to have a meal after Friday golf, contact the Runaway Rickshaw on the Wednesday before, from Kadek or Jill on 0448 943 277 or 0429 834 959.


The Pier Hotel sponsored the ladies' par round, with Maxine Garnaut winning on a count-back from Elaine Pierik, both with two up. Rundowns went to Jacqui McNamara, Josie Bacchus and Gail Watherston, all square with the card.

Val Sharrad and Kaye Jaensch were nearest the pin winners.


A field of 60 men played in their mid-week competition, with one visitor from Waikerie Golf Club.

The score of the day came in A grade with Clinton Scharfe winning with 43 points from Dan Townsend on 40, the same score Andy Smith had in B grade to win over Bill Healey with 36 points.

Gerry Hemming's 37 points was enough to win C grade from Cliff Taylor on 35. Rundowns went to Scott Lombe 37, Mick Hegarty 36 and Graeme Parker, Bob Ford and Brian Smith, all on 35 points.

Dan Townsend and Scott Lombe both scored Eagles on par five holes, and birdies were hard won my Jake Murray and Chas Chambers. NTP winners were Mike Munro, Kris Bunder, Jake Murray, Scott Lombe, Chas Chambers and Josh Hausler.


Rubin Thompson won Twilight Golf with 25 points over the ten designated holes. Huey Rosalia with 20 counted out Darryl Scharfe for the minor placings.


The Monthly Seniors' Day saw 16 entries, with Brenton George winning with 36 stableford points from Mick Hegarty 34 and Brian Smith third on 33 points. The front nine winner was Liz Weatherspoon and Barry Hetherington won the back nine.


Ten players entered the Sunday stableford competition, with Matt Parker winning on a count-back from Brentan Beare on 34 points.