Lower Eyre fire danger season to start November 15

Later start for Lower Eyre fire season

Fire danger season on the Lower Eyre Peninsula Fire Ban District will start two weeks after the rest of the Eyre Peninsula but locals are still reminded to be prepared for bush fire season.

The Country Fire Service announced the dates for most of the state's fire ban districts on Thursday, with Lower Eyre Peninsula's 2020/21 Fire Danger Season to begin on November 15.

This will be two weeks later compared to the West Coast and Eastern Eyre Peninsula districts, which will both begin this Sunday.

CFS Region Six fire prevention officer George Kozminski said the Lower Eyre Peninsula Bushfire Management Committee had made the recommendation for the season to begin on November 1, but was happy with the decision by CFS chief officer Mark Jones to change the date to November 15.

Mr Kozminski said the soil dryness index was very different compared to the same time last year, with 35mm needed to saturate the top soil compared to 140mm.

"From about Karkoo downwards it's still quite green and we're still about two to three weeks until people start taking something off (paddocks)," he said.

"In the northern parts of Lower Eyre Peninsula Fire Ban District people are well and truly reaping and headers are in paddocks."

Despite the late start Mr Kozminski said people should still be preparing their properties for the fire danger season, which could be done throughout the year.

"New growth on roadsides, especially since the late rains will make a difference to the fuel loads we have," he said.

Mr Jones said now is the perfect time for people to prepare for the oncoming season and update their Bushfire Survival Plan.

Also starting on November 15 are Mid North, Murraylands, Riverland, Upper South East and Yorke Peninsula.

Season dates have yet to be announced for Adelaide Metropolitan, Kangaroo Island and Mount Lofty Ranges.

Subscribe to the FREE Port Lincoln Times newsletter which will be delivered to your inbox every Monday, at 12.30pm.