Port Lincoln couple celebrates diamond wedding anniversary

It was an anniversary to remember for Port Lincoln residents Dalys and Mel Mortimer, who celebrated 60 years of marriage earlier this month.

The couple reached their diamond wedding anniversary milestone on March 10, a marriage that started with a "leap of faith" as Mr Mortimer at 21-years-old married Mrs Dansie (nee Barns), a widow with two small children.

The couple first met as Mr Mortimer worked for her in-laws at a farm out of Yeelanna.

The first date was set up after Mr Mortimer received an invitation from Henry King with two complimentary tickets to the opening of the Belair Drive-in in Port Lincoln.

Following some encouragement from a friend he asked Mrs Dansie if she wanted to go, but did not get the answer he wanted straight away.

He didn't give up and telephoned her again a few days later and she finally agreed to go.

The couple drove in Mr Mortimer Ford Prefect mostly over dirt road from Yeelanna to Port Lincoln with a top speed of 50 miles per hour. The relationship grew from there.

Mrs and Mr Mortimer married on March 10, 1961 at the Port Lincoln Methodist Church, with Mr Mortimer's sister Jill Mortimer as bridesmaid and Mick Jesser as best man.

They are enjoying 60 years of wedded bliss, with many happy memories of their life together.

When asked the secret to long, happy marriage, Mr Mortimer replied "remember the marriage vows you took and always put the toilet seat down."

Mrs and Mr Mortimer held a special celebration and open afternoon tea at the Kirton Bowling Club, where they are both life members, on March 7 with family and friends.

The couple have five children, 11 grandchildren and currently 11 great grandchildren.

Following this grand occasion Mrs and Mr Mortimer celebrated their anniversary day with loved ones at lunch at the Hotel Boston, and said they were spoiled by restaurant manager Marieta Svalbe and staff.

The couple have also been congratulated with letters of best wishes from Queen Elizabeth II, Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Premier Steven Marshall, South Australian Governor Hieu Van Le, Governor General David Hurley, Federal MP Rowan Ramsey, Flinders MP Peter Treloar, federal opposition leader Anthony Albanese and state opposition leader Peter Malinauskas.