Close contests at Port Lincoln golf

Close contests at Port Lincoln golf



Sponsored by Hunts Fuel and Eyre Refrigeration, 68 players entered the Saturday Stableford competition, with three visitors from the Clare, Coffin Bay and North Adelaide golf clubs.

The A grade winner in the men's division was Tony Dragun with 39 points from Mike Freeman's 37.

'Farmer' Phil Hyde won the B grade with the score of the day, 41 points, from Geoff Nottle's 38, while James Fuss took out the C grade with 37 points on a countback from Mike Munro.

Rundowns went to Dan Townsend, Rex Martin and Stuart Pobke, all on 37, with Greg Cotton and Mark Butt on 36.

In the ladies division, Maxine Garnaut counted out Heather Darley on 38 points.

NTP winners were Peter Schaefer, Brenton Lees, Townsend, Warren Rosman, Cotton, Jamie Puddy and Dylan Bell.

Six par-three birdies were scored, by Townsend and Ryan Lack (both twice), Cotton and Brett Davies.


Only 16 ladies competed in a par competition, sponsored by Cafe Chinos and Eyre Refrigeration.

Carolyn Cocks was square with the card on handicap, followed by Kaye Jaensch on -2.

Rundowns went to Cynthia Thompson on -3, while Maxine Garnaut and Adie Fraser won nearest the pin on the ninth hole.


A smaller field of 54 men contested their midweek stableford competition, sponsored this week by Eyre Eye Centre.

Past player Brian Stacy was a visitor from Tea Tree Gully.

President Dan Townsend hit a fine 68 - four under par - to win A grade with 43 points on a countback from Don Henson.

Ben Sellen took out the B grade with 38 points ahead of Darryl Scharfe's 36, while silent achiever Boris Kovacic won the C grade on 40 points, four ahead of Robert Fox.

Rundowns went to Mike Freeman on 38, Chas Chambers' 37 and both Brenton George and Pat Kildea with 36.

NTP winners were Dave Sargent, Kevin Reidy, Haydn Myers, Taylor Ford, Tony Dragun and Stacy.

Par three birdies were scored by Townsend, Greg Cotton, Dragun and Ben Abley.


The last twilight golf event for the daylight savings competition attracted eight players, with Mick Hegarty on 20 points winning from Liz Weatherspoon's 19.


Twenty-four golfers enjoyed the Sunday Stableford, with Benji Sellen emerging the winner on 38 points, one ahead of John Phillips.

The scoring was fierce, as the next best scores on 36 were Brett Davies (now on a one handicap), father and son Rob and Jack Humphries, and Helen George.