Another big week in local golf

Another big week in local golf



There were familiar names of winners from Sunday's mixed stableford competition - Samuel Beare with 42 points counted out Codey Marchesi, from a field of 11 players.


A good field of 19 played in the 10-hole twilight competition, including a visitor from Grange Golf Club.

The winner was Diana Laube with 23 points from Deb Sykes on 21 and Josh Hausler on 20 on a countback.


Fifty-five men played in their midweek competition, sponsored by the Marina Hotel and Apartments.

Huey Rosalia won the A grade with 38 stableford points from John Strycharski on 37, as Andrew Stevens won B grade with 40 from Graeme Dyke's 39, and Garry Downey had the score of the day to win the C grade with 41 from Boris Kovacic on 38.

Rundowns went to Dave Sargent's 38, Bob Sorensen with 36, Geoff Nottle on 35 and Brian Henson with 34.

Nearest the pin winners were Kane Williams (twice), Cliff Taylor, Dan Townsend, Grant Bamber and Downey.

Trent Bradford, Bamber and Tim Robinson had par-three birdies.


Twenty women played a stroke competition, which was won by Helen George on nett 70 from Carolyn Cocks on 71.

Rundowns went to Cynthia Thompson and Sue Cotton on 72, and Val Sharrad with 73.

Helen George (twice) and Lorraine McDonald had par-three birdies.


The first teams event was held last Friday evening, with 56 players participating.

It is never too late to join this social event to wind up your working week - contact the club for further information, or contact coordinator Josh Hausler at

This past week there were 74 players, probably including the 10 local players who were honing up their games for an away pennants round at Whyalla on Sunday.


Seventy-seven men and 14 women played a par round.

The men's A grade winner was Taylor Ford with +3 from Dylan Bell, who came in square with the card.

Andrew Stevens won the B grade with +2 from Daniel Brown's +1, while Peter Leahy and Colin Clark had the scores of the day with +4 in the C grade, which was only decided on a countback.

The ladies' winner was Val Sharrad with +2, from Elaine Pierik's +1.

Nearest the pin winners were Bill Healey, Ben Sellen, Bob Ford, Haydn Myers, James Blewit, Chris Cottrell and Norm Marks, with birdies coming from Ben Kotz, Stevens, Michael Schoeman, Dylan Bell, Brian Smith, Cynthia Thompson and Blewit.


The delayed club championships for this year will be played over the next two weeks.