Carlos Ruiz Zafn: The City of Mist a touchingly posthumous return to enduring themes

By Ian McFarlane
December 3 2021 - 2:00am
The late Carlos Ruiz Zafn. Picture: Getty Images

The bestselling Spanish novelist, Carlos Ruiz Zafn, was taken by cancer last year, at the sadly early age of 55. He wrote what might be called baroque mysteries, and his countless fans, of whom I am one, will miss him. He started out writing books for young adults, successfully switching to adult fiction in 2004 with The Shadow of the Wind, which, together with three other titles, The Angel's Game (2009), The Prisoner of Heaven (2012), and The Labyrinth of the Spirits (2017), became the quartet lovingly known and remembered as "The Cemetery of Forgotten" books. These novels don't need to be read sequentially, since their elaborately entwined paths can be followed from any entry point.



Get the latest Port Lincoln news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.